Peter Young Memorial Road Race

Rain.

Something I like to race in. But not train in. When it’s cold and wet I never get bothered. I get extra motivation when I hear people complaining about the weather before a race. And I never get cold!
Though, this Sunday was spectacularly wet. There were large patches of standing water and hidden holes, which thankfully I missed!

As the flag went down, a few riders attacked, which I followed. A group of ten or so got a decent gap. Soon to be joined by Olympic Gold medalist Ed Clancy, IG Sigma Sport riders and some others. With now a group of 20 I wanted to see if I could split it, so through the feed zone I put in a dig. Getting a decent gap, only to be caught half a lap later. The next lap, I attacked on a small rise and went full gas for a good 5 miles before being joined by Alex Higham, John Heaton-Armstrong both Team Felt and Elliott Porter, Rapha. We worked together for a good few laps, John sadly punctured.

After sixty five miles the race then began a smaller circuit that went up the finish climb of Staple Hill, a drag that rose to a steeper section at the finish. We did 7 laps of this circuit. We got to the last corner, I was third wheel, feeling pretty strong still even after 85 miles in very testing conditions. We slowed to a near snails pace. Higham gave it a go but was shut down by Elliott. Who then opened up the sprint. I waited until the steeper part of the hill started and opened up the taps. Taking my first ever road race win by 20 meters.

I said earlier that I stayed warm, well I did. Until after the race. Some mega air conditioning occurred shortly after the finish. I’ve managed to clean myself up too, after three showers…

Today, I felt like I was riding with the legs of two men. One who was good on the hills. I’d like to dedicate the win to Junior Heffernan who lost his life two weeks ago in a road race.

I’m hoping today has proved some people wrong. And likewise some people right. And made some people take notice!
I’m not just a crit rider now!

20130317-215036.jpg

That’s a pretty awesome photo too!

Twitter – @Jakey_Cakey

One thought on “Peter Young Memorial Road Race

Leave a Reply

