New bike from Deutschland !

Recently I found myself with out a bike to race on in 2013, I had a few frames but still needed a new groupset and components. So I came to the logical conclusion of trying to find a bike that would cost around the same as re-building a frame. Set with a budget of around £2000 I trawled the internet looking for something that would serve me well in Belgium next year. But all I could find were cheap carbon frames, of which I’ve had plenty of bad luck with this year, or mid range carbon frames with low end componentry. Until, I stumbled across the German brand ‘Canyon‘. They only sell via their website and also have an outlet store. On which I found a 2012 Ultimate AL 9.0 Di2 bike for £1685. £400 cheaper than the RRP. A few conversations with my parents led to us buying it within half an hour of finding it! Ordered on a Thursday it was delivered by UPS on the Tuesday. Pretty quick! That’s German efficiency.

I’ll run through the spec briefly (ish)…

Frame – Aluminium – 60cm – I prefer aluminium, it feels stiffer and it’s studier than carbon. Well, that’s my view at least!

Groupset – Ultegra Di2 Electronic groupset – Full groupset, no cheap brakes – I hope I never have to go back to mechanical! I wont have to worry about snapped SRAM levers or cables from now on.

Wheels – Mavic Kysrium Equipe – Sturdy for training, good enough for race days and hopefully strong enough for the occasional cobblestone.

Tyres – Continental GP4000s – Top end race tyres – The 2013 model comes with cheaper tyres!

Saddle – Came with a cheap Selle Italia which I swapped out for a ProLogo.

Bars & Stem – 3T Rotundo Pro bars – 44cm – Ritchey stem – 130mm

Pedals – Carbon Ultegra PD-6700. Only because they match the frame. Anything in matte black is good.

Here’s some pictures of the bike and of it and I in action!

IT'S ARRIVED !

IT’S ARRIVED !

Time to get unpacking. It came with a free Torque wrench. How nice.

Time to get unpacking. It came with a free Torque wrench. How very nice.

Unnerving lack of top cap. Clever.

Unnerving lack of top cap. Clever. And Scary.

I'm using Elite bottle cages and bottles.

I’m using Elite bottle cages and bottles in 2013.

I added the neon cables this week. K-Edge Garmin mount too.

I added the neon cables this week. K-Edge Garmin mount too.

The full thing.

The full thing.

Racing at Hillingdon.

Racing at Hillingdon.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year ! ! !
And Thanks Mum and Dad.

Leave a Reply

