New Team. New Bike. New Year. Same Rider.

After a jam packed year racing with Pendragon-Le Col- Colnago, taking me all over the UK, on TV and even to Europe for races the team sadly folded at the end of August leaving me with the job of finding a new team for 2012. A tough task it seems with various team sponsorships pulling out and some international pro’s coming back home to race. It looked like getting a place on a top level British team would prove difficult! But  fortunately I had been speaking to Rod Freeman of Cycle Premier, who after a few chats and a trip to the Birmingham Cycle Show, assured me I’d have a place on his team for 2012, a huge relief for me, I was worrying I’d have to race as a Private Member!

The team line-up is looking strong with a number of International riders coming over and a number of strong British elite riders, mixed with some youthful talent. 2012 is looking to be a good year for myself and the team. I can’t wait to get racing started again.

Sad to hang up the Colnago I was riding this year, the Kovert Racing team bikes for 2012 are looking to be just as good, if not stiffer. And back to good old SRAM instead of campag, which for me, has been quite temperamental. I’ve also recently started using O.symetric Chainrings (As used by Bradley Wiggins and a number of ProTour riders..the wonky ones) and I have to say, there is a definite gain to be had from them, climbing is better, sprinting is better pedalling action is better and riding in general is better. So I’d recommend them if anyone was thinking about getting some. Well worth it!

My aims for next year are slightly different to this years, with a little more experience under my belt, I’ll be doing more High level British races and the team will be hoping for a tour series place again. After a taste last year I really want to go back and build on my performance last year! One of my main targets for 2012 is the National U23 Time Trial Championships in September, a long wait I know. But after a wrong turn and 4km extra I have a score to settle with it! Fingers crossed for a very wet flat course! And of course maintain my Elite Licence and maybe break into the top 15 in the National rankings.

If anyone is worried that the trademark “Jakeaway” will disappear, fear not. I have no plans to hang up my attacking streak yet… if not ever!! And also it seems someone has made a Jake Martin fan page of sorts on Twitter, Named “@JakeMartinFacts“. It’s pretty funny some of the stuff that’s on there!

Really looking forward to 2012, getting some good hard training in now when it really counts with a trip to Majorca in Janurary!  Can’t wait to gear it up in February for The Perf’s Pedal race.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!! See you all on the other side!!!

@Jakey_Cakey  

Leave a Reply

